He’s Here!

It has been eons again since I posted. So long, in fact, that I’m writing this while breastfeeding my one month old baby. Time sure gets away from me.

This month has been one of the hardest of my life. While I absolutely adore my little guy, the reality of his screaming coupled with my own lack of sleep is tough. Certainly I don’t mean to sound ungrateful… It seems so hypocritical to complain even a smidge after dealing with infertility and miscarriages. But alas, that is my reality right now. The fourth trimester!

E was born on November 25, 2013, after 33 hours of labor from first contraction to finish. It was hands down the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but I survived and had the natural birth I was hoping for, thanks to my amazing midwife. I’ll post the birth story later.

E was 8lbs 9oz, and 21 inches long. In the first few days he lost nearly 10% of his body weight, and wasn’t gaining it back, so we have been struggling with supplementing with formula, and attempting to transition away from it now that his weight is back on track. Breastfeeding is a full time job!

I will leave you with a few pictures of my adorable little man. He is constantly amazing us with his humanness. Such a tiny little person, but already SO expressive!

20131224-015850.jpg

20131224-015903.jpg

20131224-015913.jpg

20131224-015923.jpg

20131224-015956.jpg

20131224-020028.jpg

20131224-020051.jpg

20131224-020115.jpg

20131224-020141.jpg

20131224-015824.jpg

20131224-033811.jpg

9 thoughts on “He’s Here!

  1. Rachael says:

    He’s so precious! SO glad to see an update and to see he’s healthy and happy. The first few months are the hardest, don’t make apologies for your feeling, regardless of your struggles to get here, they are valid. Every mama has them! I know I did! 🙂 It will get better and this too will be a thing of the past! Hope you have a great holiday with your little guy, he’s adorable! 🙂

  2. DeCaf says:

    I’ve heard it’s super common for breast-fed babies to lose weight at first. Like almost universal.
    Don’t feel bad about admitting that parenting a newborn can be very hard. It’s often coined as “the hardest job you’ll ever love”

    • thebings says:

      I think the lack of weight gain was where they were worried. I guess the babes are supposed to gain back to their birth weight in the first two weeks, and he hadn’t.
      That quote is perfect; thank you!

  3. egarza03 says:

    He is so precious!!! Its amazing to see how far you’ve come through the struggles of wanting to become parents. Our little one is 15 weeks and we still dont know what a full night of sleep feels like. Sometimes we feel like were losing our minds but I wouldnt have it any other way. Being a mom is the greatest gift I could have ever received. Congrats Mommy!

  4. Congratulations! Thank you for sharing those gorgeous pictures. There is some good protocol for weening off of supplements on Jack Newman’s site. Wallace and I had all kinds of issues breastfeeding and I’ve been in the process of deciding which route I will take to become a LC. I know it can be hard having lots of people giving you advice, but if you’d like a friendly person to talk to about it, feel free to email me, my blog name at gmail.

    • thebings says:

      Thank you! It’s hard to know whose advice to follow… The doctors are mainly concerned about his numbers, not getting back to being exclusively breastfed, but it’s hard to go against doctor’s orders! I would love to chat more about it.

  5. He’s beautiful. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

