It’s Been Awhile!

Wow.  I don’t even know where to start.  So many fantastic and wonderful things have been happening!

I am now 19 weeks pregnant…

DSC_0010

Quite the belly, eh?  =)

This week I started being able to feel the baby move.  It is so amazing to be at a point where I’m getting constant reassurance that everything’s still alright down there.  Besides a few near-fainting episodes at the hospital I’m interning at, I have been feeling great.

We have been exploring cloth diapering options, and feeling more than a little overwhelmed.  It seems everyone has different preferences; my head is spinning with the choices: all-in-ones, hybrids, all-in-twos, pocket diapers, covers, inserts, and on and on.  I am such a planner, it makes me crazy that I might have to buy a bunch and “wait-and-see” what works!

We just came back from our big vacation (for Michelle’s 40th) to Puerto Rico!  We had many adventures and misadventures…  We had an awful seven hour layover on the way there, Michelle’s suitcase got lost (for only a day, luckily), everything was closed for Father’s Day, and we were there during torrential downpours, but we saw some amazing historical spots and architecture, the rainforest, and had one beautiful (and hot!) day at the beach.  And I got to try stand-up paddleboarding (I have been waiting years for that)!

DSC_0167

Everything has been really great, albeit super busy.  In an attempt to get the majority of my classes out of the way before baby arrives, this term and next I have full time internships (40 hrs a week) and 2-3 classes.  It makes the time fly by though!

We find out the sex of our baby in one week!  We had been considering having a private ultrasound done so that we could find out sooner, but the sonographer (a parent of a past student) convinced me to wait.  She said, “Would you open your Christmas presents three weeks early?”  No, I would never do that!  So we’ve toughed it out.  We planned a BBQ where we will find out with our friends and family, but I will post details and pictures of that next week!

I have finally started the process to have my name changed.  When we signed our domestic partnership papers four years ago, I had the option to have my name changed, but it would have been for Oregon only.  I still would have needed to go through the court process to have it changed federally, and at the time that wasn’t practical.  I have always felt strongly, though, that sharing a last name is one way to help us be recognized as a family.  I had to file paperwork, pay a fairly large fee, post a notice in the courthouse for a two week waiting period, and I will appear in court tomorrow for the judge to sign off on the change.  Then I believe there is another two week waiting period before it’s official. And then of course, the change of names on every card, loan, title, deed, et cetera!  Quite the process you have to go through when you can’t be legally married.

Finally, I’d like to say a bit about the Supreme Court decisions this week.  Obviously, this week was a momentous step in this movement towards marriage equality, but I feel like the media is leaving out some major details.  Not all of DOMA was struck down.  So, that means that only the couples living in states with legal gay marriage will now receive federal benefits.  Thirteen states only.  We and many others like us are still waiting.  This week is cause for serious celebration, but I don’t want people to forget that there are still battles to be fought.  Our state will be voting on gay marriage again next November, and it would be a tragedy for people to not realize how much their participation is needed.

4 thoughts on “It’s Been Awhile!

  1. MrsT says:

    I have thought about you several times and wondered how you were doing!!! So I’m so happy to hear that everything is going so well. You look amazing!!! Just glowing!!! One week til you find out the sex will seem like a month! Ha! I know it did for us!
    Having your name changed is a pain but so worth it once your little one arrives! I know that I am so happy that we all share the same last name.
    And I totally agree with what you said about being happy about striking down DOMA but still having a long road to go. We spoke with out attorney just a few days ago as we are finalizing our second parent adoption and she mentioned that couples who are legally married in one state but living in a state where it isnt recognized will not recieve federal benefits yet. She said it will take couples living in those states taking law suits to the federal courts stating that they are being discriminated against in order for the laws to be changed. We know that here in Tennessee there is an attorney prepared to do that. There is still a long road ahead but progress is progress.
    Can’t wait to hear what you are having! Do you have names picked out yet?

  2. I hear you on the cloth diapers! So many details and decisions for something that will be covered in poop. We ended up signing up for a newborn diaper rental program to figure out what would work best for us. We figure if we like it we’ll buy them once they outgrow the newborn diapers. The store is based out of Vermont (www.earthycrunchymama.com) but will ship anywhere. They give you everything to get started and they have been incredibly helpful so far. We’re expecting our shipment in a week! I thought I’d throw that out there.

    Good luck and I can’t wait for the gender reveal!

  3. Rachael says:

    I’m so excited to hear from you again! I have thought about you both many times since your last post and wondered how you were doing. Glad to see things are going well!

    I’m so happy for you! I know we are in the same boat as far as DOMA goes, so I also hope people can rejoice in the step in the right direction, but they heed your words and know that the fight is not over for equality.

    Anyway, so glad to have you back and I’m excited to hear the gender reveal!

  4. Hey! I nominated your blog for a Liebster award! Check out my most recent post for what that means, then answer the questions and share the love!

Leave a Reply

