The First Look

This morning we had our first ultrasound. I was so nervous, I was shaking like a leaf! We knew we’d be able to get some answers regarding the bleeding last week (and the spotting that has continued since), and I was feeling cautiously optimistic at best.

The doctor did find a heartbeat, however he said it was a little lower than he’d like to see. The heartbeat was 102. The size of the embryo was a little small too, measuring 4.7 cm. He said both measured at about 6 weeks 1 day, and we’re at 6 weeks 3 days. I guess if we had been a little unsure of when we got pregnant everything would be looking fine, but with the trigger shot, we know exactly. Our little Poppy may not be developing properly.

He also found a subchorionic hematoma, the cause of my bleeding last week. Apparently not as worrisome as the size of the embryo, though, and he said it should resolve itself in the next few months, but I should expect some bleeding to continue. The thing was bigger than the pregnancy sac! It was scary looking on the screen, but I know it’s only like two centimeters or something really.

So, we’re still in no man’s land.. No closer to knowing if this pregnancy is going to stick. The doctor said he thought we were in the 50 to 75 percent range that it would go on to be a successful pregnancy. Well, he said definitely 50/50, but less than 75. Instills confidence, right? Somehow, I guess I had thought getting pregnant was like the finish line, but I think the hurdles are just beginning.

We go back next Monday for another ultrasound. The embryo should have doubled in size by then, and the heartbeat should be over 130 then too. And so we wait.

20120709-181702.jpg

4 thoughts on “The First Look

  1. Roxxroxx says:

    Hey, I have just been playing catch-up on your blog – somehow I missed that you are pregnant (I have been travelling a bit and now feeling very unwell so maybe that’s why), so first off, congratulations on getting even that far! It’s an amazing feeling and achievement. Second off, bleeding though terrifying is not always a sign of problems- I have bled and there is another blogger with exactly the same subchorionic bleeding that you had- her pregnancy is fine, although she did say she bled for 8 weeks. Please try not to panic and take it easy. I know the whole thing is very fragile at 6 weeks, so while you are waiting for your next appointment, please try to stay positive and rest rest rest. My doc has been very severe with me about not doing too much. Pregnancy has affected me like nothing else- I’ve never felt so sick for so long, or as though my body is not my own… I feel like someone else is driving me. It’s currently impossible to imagine how some women don’t even notice that they are prwgnant. Anyway, my point is, all the very best and eat as much good stuff as you can and rest as much as possible. I’m thinking of you and have everything crossed that this pregnancy is going to stick for you guys. There is a great chance that everything will be fine. Sending ttc love your way.

  2. Oh man, it seems like anyone who has been trying so long for a pregnancy shouldn’t have so much to worry about once they actually get that elusive BFP. All my best wishes for you and Poppy on Monday!

  3. MrsT says:

    Love the first picture of your Poppy! So sweet!
    Keep thinking postive! Remember you are PREGNANT! Just celebrate it! I know it’s hard not to worry, believe me the first 12 weeks everything scared the crap out of me but I know that staying relaxed and not stressing your body and the baby out will help your little Poppy grow : ) So like Roxx said Rest rest rest!
    Keeping you in my thoughts…looking forward to hearing how the next ultrasound goes!

  4. Beautiful already! Keep thinking good thoughts for Poppy!

Leave a Reply

