Updates

So, if you hadn’t already guessed, we’re not pregnant. On the 27th, we went in for the baseline ultrasound, and everything was normal. He found 7 follicles on my right side, and 6 on my left. I guess that’s about average? And my hormone levels were normal for that stage of my cycle. We had a different doctor, but again I was a little taken aback by the demeanor. So matter-of-fact and impersonal! I basically got told to take out my tampon, they did the transvaginal ultrasound (ouch), and left me on the table. He bluntly told us that the IUI with our known donor’s sperm was not going to happen, and was surprised that the other doctor had even agreed to talk to legal about it.

Then, last Friday I called to find out where we stood for this cycle, and spoke to the nursing manager. She said that the 6 month quarantine is their clinic rule, and not the FDA’s, so they could waive that after they wrote a new policy for us. (But how long would that take!) She sent us a “packet” of what they would require from our donor, though, and here’s what it entails:

Physical
Family history and paperwork
Blood work
Legal documents outlining rights
Mandatory counseling for him and his wife

The first three I understand, and they are FDA required, but the last two? We are planning to get legal documents after we achieve a pregnancy, but what business is it of theirs? And counseling for him and his wife?? That’s an awful lot to ask of someone who is doing us a HUGE favor (uh, offering us a baby?). Plus, the “donations” would have to be within 7 days of the blood work, so he would have like three donations within a week. And the clinic is an hour and a half away. It’s all just too much.

On the brighter side, though, I took 100mg of Clomid this month (got two prescriptions filled at once; I’m desperate!) My mid-cycle ultrasound showed two mature follicles and one other possible candidate. They were at 18.5mm, 17mm, and 14mm. I guess they’ll grow a bit more before I ovulate, but were good for day 11. My uterine lining was 10 (mm?), and the nurse practitioner said they like at least a 7. So, we paid for a trigger shot, just to help pinpoint the timing. We figured it was worth a shot (no pun intended).

I left feeling hopeful for this cycle, which I hope doesn’t leave me with nothing but greater disappointment. I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t expect to get pregnant, so this feeling makes me nervous.

We inseminate tomorrow and Friday, 32 hours after the trigger shot, and 57 hours after. The shot is supposed to make me ovulate 36-40 hours after taking it, and they told us the eggs can live for about 24 hours. We wanted the best sperm (what is saved up) for the first, better-timed insemination, and the second one just in case. If it doesn’t happen this time, I don’t know what we’ll do next.

3 thoughts on “Updates

  1. RE’s can be very crappy. My first one didn’t want to work with us because of our unique situation, wouldn’t talk about using known donor sperm at all. They wanted us to go into counseling but we weren’t forced into it. At the current dr they support therapy if any or all parties want it but they don’t make it mandatory. They’re willing to monitor everything and send us on our own for inseminating or do IUI with frozen sperm in office. These things can be so tricky! I don’t think the doctors have a legal right to know who has rights to what regarding your body/child. Grr.
    I hope this is the month for you!

  2. MrsT says:

    I know exactly what its like to get to that point where you “don’t expect to get pregnant” and the point where you “don’t know what to do next”. Honestly thats where I was when it finally happened for us. I think it helps take the stress off of you when the high expectations are dropped while trying to stay positive at the same time. Wishing and hoping that this is your time…best of luck to you too! I’ll be thinking about you!

  3. Roxxroxx says:

    that all sounds very stressful (and unnecessary!).Like Mrs T, I also understand those feelings you describe. You start to question the whole process… I was in the same position – that is when it happened for us too, when I genuinely had stopped expecting it to work, and stopped letting it dominate our lives (well, to quite the degrees it formerly did) . Good luck!!! we are all behind you 🙂

Leave a Reply

